The Assessor (formally known as the Supervisor of Assessments) is appointed by statute to 4-year terms. The department is responsible for the overall property tax assessment process within the County of Jefferson, which includes 11 townships and multi-township assessment districts. The Assessor also functions as the Clerk of the Board of Review and the County Flood Plain Administrator. All property tax Homestead Exemptions along with Exempt Status Exemptions are administered through the Supervisor of Assessments office. Any property tax assessment complaints filed with the County Board of Review are filed with and administered through this office.


The department is also responsible for the county mapping program.




T: 618.244.8016 ext. 7, opt. 1

E: slueker@jeffil.us


Office/Mailing Address:

100 S. 10th Street

Mt. Vernon, Illinois 62864



Join our mailing list
Sign up to get the latest news & events.